Having “More Than Enough” = Contentment

It amazes me how selfish I can be at times with “my” money.

We were at church service last night where I had the privilege to attend with our oldest daughter who is 12. As of last September she

Money

moved up from the kids programming to attend service with us. She is really enjoying it.

She had brought some of her spending money along as they had went out and about their their grandma before service. When it came time for the offering, I saw her with a crisp $10 bill in her hand. Quite honestly, I wasn’t sure why she had it out so I asked her. She looked at me with a “surprised what do you think look” and said in a whisper it was for the offering. Do you know what my first honest knee jerk reaction was? Instead of being happy, proud, etc. I thought “Oh, but that is $10 out of your own money and don’t you want to save it?”

I didn’t say anything, but raised my eyebrows instead. “Mom,” she whispered, “I have more than enough money saved up at home. If I give this, then I will still have $140 leftover.”  I asked her if she was sure she wanted to. ” I want to give this.” she replied back affirmatively. When the offering basket came around, she tossed in her $10 bill with a smile, leaned over and said “Mom, there are two checks in there, isn’t that nice that people give?”

It hit me then how selfish I can be.

My immediate reaction was closed fist “hang on to what you got so you can get more” attitude whereas Maggie saw her money really for what it was suppose to be for…furthering God’s Kingdom by giving. It was humbling to see how much I still need to learn in this category.

She was right…she DID have “enough” – her feeling of being content with what she had made me marvel at how simple it really is. It certainly did make me smile afterwards as I thought, you know what, “we have more than enough too.”

Thanks for reading and God bless.

Live Beyond Awesome.

Jen

http://www.fieldofdebt.com

http://www.livingbeyondawesome.com (Living Beyond Awesome book released on Amazon and through our website)

A great book to read on this subject is Dave Ramsey’s book More Than Enough:
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=fieldofdebt-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0142000477&ref=tf_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, how wonderful and mature your young daughter is. It’s sometimes a challenge to be content with what you have. I’m glad she gets it at a young age. It took me a while longer…

    Reply

Leave a comment